Some questions about the data...

Aug 27, 2012 at 7:09 AM

I posted this a few days ago as a comment to the page describing the data format. Maybe this is a better place for it (?)

Hello Gavin,

First I have to say I am very impressed with all this data, I have a hard time understanding how you put that together and how many hours you must have spent on this.

I have a few questions.
- This latest version seem to have at least one new code (built), is that any different from "lock" ? Is there any other notable changes from the previous version ?
- It seems that you have replace a lot of the characters defined as "bd" or "ba" with something else, especially just "w"... I thought the previous way has somewhat more information on how the character was constructed.... (?)
- It seems to me the definitions of "s" and "w" are actually very similar to each other... ?

I am not really an expert in any of this so all this is more for my curiosity than anything else.

If you are interested, I am trying to use this to find characters that are (very) similar looking to each other. I'm having only very mild success so far... but have still quite a few things to try.

Thanks!

Coordinator
Oct 8, 2012 at 9:34 AM

First I have to say I am very impressed with all this data, I have a hard time understanding how you put that together and how many hours you must have spent on this.

djense- Sorry but I only just noticed your comment and discussion. The email notification for this new website didn't happen.

Most of the time I spent generating this data was while I was watching movies. Either activity would have been boring on its own but when done together enabled me to spend long stretches of time on it. It involved frequent text munging in Groovy or Ruby.

I have a few questions.
- This latest version seem to have at least one new code (built), is that any different from "lock" ? Is there any other notable changes from the previous version ?