This project is read-only.

How did you do it?

Mar 29, 2014 at 2:52 AM
Edited Mar 29, 2014 at 2:54 AM
Hi Gavin,

I'm amazed at your decomposition data. However, I can't even begin to think how you have gone about it. I'm a programmer too but my field of expertise is a long, long way from this area - operating systems and high-frequency trading. I've changed jobs how though. I'm currently in Taiwan learning Mandarin to follow my interest in Chinese Buddhism.

So, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to Unicode and the like.

I don't understand how you go from a Unicode codepoint, which doesn't have a graphical representation, to a graphical decomposition. There has to be some intermediate graphical information that you analyse somehow. What is that graphical information? The only candidate that I know of is a font but that has obvious problems if you're trying to extract composition data.

I hope you don't mind me asking about your methods.

Anders.
Mar 29, 2014 at 3:37 PM
I had to visually inspect every glyph to decide how to decompose it. Of course, I had to write lots of short programming scripts to analyse the data and ensure its continuing integrity. There's about 10,000 intermediate codes (represented by numerics) not themselves in Unicode, but I suspect there's lots of duplicates and cyclic repeats which I can eliminate with further analysis.
Mar 30, 2014 at 4:07 AM
Wow. That's incredible.

Thank you.

On 29/03/14 22:37, gavingrover wrote:

I had to visually inspect every glyph to decide how to decompose it. Of course, I had to write lots of short programming scripts to analyse the data and ensure its continuing integrity. There's about 10,000 intermediate codes (represented by numerics) not themselves in Unicode, but I suspect there's lots of duplicates and cyclic repeats which I can eliminate with further analysis.

May 27, 2014 at 2:39 AM